FMA's Picnic At Hanging Rock Announced By Foxtel

FMA's Picnic At Hanging Rock Announced By Foxtel
September 6, 2016
FremantleMedia Australia has today received the green light from Foxtel to produce new premium drama Picnic at Hanging Rock, a trailblazing re-imagining of the timeless Australian novel by Joan Lindsay. This is one of the most significant drama commissions in FMA’s recent history.

Foxtel Chief Executive Officer, Peter Tonagh, announced the new drama commission this morning in his keynote address at the 2016 ASTRA Conference in Sydney.

Picnic at Hanging Rock is in pre-production as a 6 x 60 minute event drama which has secured production investment from Screen Australia.

The drama will plunge viewers into the mysterious disappearance of three schoolgirls and their governess on Valentine’s Day 1900 and the far-reaching aftermath.

FMA's Director of Drama, Jo Porter, said "We are delighted to be continuing our partnership with Foxtel, Screen Australia and our distributors FremantleMedia International to bring this iconic and timeless Australian classic story to the screen for a new generation.

“It is testament to the originality of author Joan Lindsay that her novel, charting the chilling mystery of the inexplicable disappearance of the three school girls and their teacher at Hanging Rock and the secrets this event lays bare in its wake, still feels just as fresh, unsettling and relevant today.

“Bea Christian and Alice Addison's incredible scripts are both brilliant renderings of this mystery and provocative explorations of the underlying themes of gender, control, identity and burgeoning sexuality. The producer is the highly esteemed Antonia Barnard.”

Picnic at Hanging Rock’s executive producers are FMA’s Jo Porter and Anthony Ellis and Foxtel’s Penny Win, the producer is Antonia Barnard and writers are Beatrix Christian and Alice Addison. FremantleMedia International is distributing the series worldwide. Casting is underway.

Picnic at Hanging Rock will premiere on Foxtel’s showcase channel in 2017.